It’s Hard to Dance

In my introductory post I had described the point in my life as my renaissance period. Gone were the days that were dull and dark. Since then I have been on this incredible journey where I have experienced relentless joy each and every day. Of course, there were hard times, for they are a natural phenomenon and inescapable.

Quite frankly, they make us human and remind us of that.

I am only human, sculpted out of flesh and blood. I, like every soul on the planet, have broken down and have risen again. What I have learned, what I have accepted is that no matter what, and reader, be sure to realize that I mean no matter what circumstances you may be going through, there is always something to rejoice about. There are a multitude of reasons to smile. In fact, if you dig deep enough that list of things to be happy about can, after a few dry bouts, flow so naturally and evenly that no amount of numbers can seem to be large enough to substantiate all of the joy in your heart.

This is my 101st post.

This feat, this beautiful, incredible, feat is evidence enough that I am still here. I may have been knocked down, but trust me, reader, I am here, I am present. It is my proof to everyone, including myself, that even when I was going through difficult times it did not hinder me. Instead I came here. I came to you. I came to write. I came to express. I came to sink into and ease into my own being, my own soul.

To celebrate, I have put together a list of 101 reasons to smile.

It is hard to dance with the devil on your back; it is even harder to smile with the devil on your back. So, shake it out.

  1. Cozy socks
  2. Coffee
  3. Laughter
  4. Good friends
  5. Hugs
  6. Family
  7. Sunrises
  8. Kittens
  9. Making something-anything!
  10. Cooking
  11. Reading loads of books
  12. Writing
  13. Journaling
  14. Receiving letters
  15. Writing letters
  16. Beautiful music
  17. Having a home
  18. Funny youtube videos
  19. Coffee cafes
  20. New books
  21. Old books
  22. Breakfast foods
  23. Rainy days
  24. Films
  25. Traveling
  26. Big dreams
  27. Teacups
  28. Learning- anything from playing an instrument to a new language
  29. Our incredible bodies
  30. Faith
  31. Pretty clothes
  32. Receiving encouragement
  33. Giving encouragement
  34. Bookstores
  35. Sunshine
  36. Hope
  37. Cookbooks
  38. Cooking
  39. Lovely restaurants
  40. Love- new, old, or future love.
  41. Adventures
  42. Receiving flowers
  43. Flowers in general
  44. Your body- whether you have all fingers and toes, or not, there is always a reason to love the body you have been given. Always.
  45. Silly dancing
  46. Slow dancing
  47. Warm baths
  48. Swimming pools
  49. Having clean water
  50. Having some money- we only need a little, despite what many think.
  51. Graduation- from college, from therapy, from rehab.
  52. Ringing a close friend
  53. Sweet pajamas
  54. Pancakes on a rainy morning
  55. Steamy mugs of tea paired with large books
  56. Reaching a goal- whether it is visiting NYC, learning German, or quitting smoking, it is a wonderful accomplishment. Accomplished by you. You!
  57. Being literate
  58. Being employed
  59. Fair rides
  60. Puppies
  61. Giving compliments
  62. Receiving compliments
  63. Candles
  64. Prayers
  65. Health- whether you have it now or are working towards it, there will be a time when you feel good.
  66. Walking barefoot
  67. Art- whether you make it or admire it
  68. Breathing
  69. Courage- whether it is starting a new job, expressing your love for someone, or simply believing in yourself. It is beautiful.
  70. Shoulders to cry on
  71. Elderly couples who are still very much in love
  72. Sunsets
  73. Having a home
  74. Joy!
  75. Gratitude for all of the blessings in your life.
  76. Helping others in need- whether they know that they are or are oblivious to their plight.
  77. Stretching- it makes you feel alive.
  78. Libraries- glorious, lovely, large, libraries!
  79. Touching song lyrics
  80. Parties or get togethers with friends
  81. Concerts
  82. Freedom
  83. Sitcoms
  84. The weekend!
  85. Decorating your living space
  86. Chasing dreams- no matter how many times you may trip, keep going.
  87. Lovely blogs
  88. Full moons
  89. The seasons
  90. Unconditional love
  91. Cozy blankets
  92. Cartwheels
  93. Surprises
  94. First days- on the job, at school, etc.
  95. Feeling full of worth
  96. Falling in love
  97. Department stores at Christmas time
  98. Surprising yourself- you are stronger than you think.
  99. Thriving in hard times
  100. Having grace
  101. Self-love
2 thoughts on “It’s Hard to Dance

Leave a Reply

