Hiatus No More

Hello, old friend. We have not seen each other in a while? Why so? Life, I suppose. What matters is that I am here now. From last Wednesday until today has been a complete whirlwind. I have traveled all over the state, by train and by automobile. I had the first two major interviews of my young adult life. My feelings are ambivalent to the first interview with Teach for America. It is up in the air. Thankfully I only have about a week more of waiting in this limbo period. An answer, good or bad, will make me feel a whole lot better. The second interview was with the Peace Corps. They seemed to like me quite a lot. I may have the chance to teach English abroad, what an amazing adventure that would be.

Fast forward to now. I am wearing my glasses because my eyes are too squinty and tired to get my contact lenses in. I only got about 5.5 hours of sleep. Bummer. The life of being an RA (is terrible). I am ready to just leave everything and go somewhere. I have a kerchief stuffed with food tied to a branch and am all ready to go. Where would I go? Anywhere. I am a person of many skills. I can make it anywhere. And by make it I mean become a famous international pop sensation. It may not get me the PhD that I have always dreamed of, but at least it puts dinner on the table. I’ll keep you posted on how that goes. Fingers crossed.

I am being forced against my will to go to the Homecoming ball tonight. The last time I went to a dance was at my senior prom. Without a date. I am too tired to put in the time and energy to do my hair and makeup. I have given up. But just in case I miss out on something amazing that I will come to regret in ten years, I will go. My friends will be happy. When did I become such a crabby old lady? False. Trick question. I have always been the crabby old lady.

Leave a Reply

