Waiting for the Ding

Yesterday I decided that it would be girls night/day/whatever. By myself. I wore impractical shoes, rationalized the amount of sweets that I ate, watched a romantic comedy whilst knitting. Mission accomplished.

I knitted yet another mug cozy. I must not have the patience to knit a scarf or I have come to the realization that I will never need a scarf in these parts. I am excited to move on to the next project now that I have mastered the knit and purl. Watch out now, crazy knitter in the making.

One of my favorite movies is “Say Anything” mainly because I love John Cusack. I searched high and low for a copy of it at my library to watch, but alas could not find it which really begs me to question the collection offered to us students. There is a part in that movie, the end scene to be exact, where John Cusack and his leading lady are on a plane. Since she is afraid of flying, he keeps reminding her that everything will be alright as soon as they hear the “smoking sign goes ding”. They hold on to each other as the airplane is elevating and hopelessly wait for that “ding”. Not only does that “ding” signify that, in John Cusack’s eyes, the plane will be alright, it signifies that they will be alright, that their future together will be alright and that all of their worries would be assuaged.

Oh, how I would love to have a “ding” in my life. The one that signals that everything will be ok, that John Cusack is my boyfriend, and that I am safe.

Leave a Reply

