‘Twas the Night Before Florence

There between two lungs you could hear a beat

that pulsated and enwrapped your mind into such a way that

led you to uncontrollably shake it out.

We set out, leave all your love and loving behind, they told us,

because here is where you will gain something more beautiful and more precious

than a falling star.

I took the star from my eyes and I kissed it and let it go in.

I grazed the milky way, gyrating and signing “I’m going to leave my body”.

Now and then it seems that life is just too tough, but I’ve got you to see me through.

Whether I am that girl with one eye or the boy who builds coffins,

I will keep following the heartlines on my head.

 

Leave a Reply

