Puff the Magic Face

I woke up this morning looking like a princess. Not really. My face was puffy and incredibly swollen after going to bed so late and my bouts of tears. It was very cute.

This morning I woke up thinking “Yay, it’s Saturday!” and thusly planned to not leave my apartment for the greater part of the day. This is for several reasons:

1. I’m pretty sure that I heard thunder. It could have been a garbage truck. Since I refuse to open my blinds to see what the day looks like, I will never truly know.

2. My university is playing a football game this afternoon and since it is an away game I am going to watch it with some of my residents. Go team!

3. My pajamas are just too comfortable.

4. I deserve a bum day.

5. Going outside just equals getting hot and sweaty, or wet, if it is raining. Either way, it is usually a bad decision for my hair.

It is looked down upon in the Christian world to idol individuals. I cannot help but idol my Mom. She is such an august source of strength and love. I look up to her greatly and know that she has faced many difficulties in her life, but has persevered and fought through those times. That gives me the hope and the comfort that I too am equipped with whatever mechanism that is within her that has allowed her to do such things and that I will be able to not just get through tough times, that I will flourish because of them.

My Mom sent me a care package the other day. Filled with a congratulations note, cute coffee place mats, and a very generous monetary gift. I was so touched by her thoughtfulness and that she recognized how much I scrimp and save. Instead of squirreling away the gift I decided to use it and bought myself a new French Press. Making my coffee this morning, it reminded me of the generosity of my beautiful Mother and that in of itself made the brew all the better.

She means the world to me and I look forward to talking with her each and every day. My only hope, desire, and goal is to be the daughter that she will be proud to call her own.

Thank you, Mom.

Leave a Reply

