It Goes On

 

I started this morning not having a clue where I was. It took me a good thirty seconds of bleary eyed looking around trying to make sense of my surroundings. After my acclimation period, I was ready to start the day. It’s funny how just coming back to school has energized me better than any method I had previously tried to employ over summer vacation.

The beauty of this morning was watching the sun slowly brighten my dark apartment. I did yoga and made a wonderfully delicious oatmeal breakfast. Some day I am going to turn into oatmeal because of the high quantity that I eat. It felt like home.

My peaceful morning soon turned into this:

 

 

Already I have scheduling and planning to do! I feel somewhat overwhelmed but I believe that I am up for the challenge.

I met my staff today and I felt like they were a nice group. Sometimes I feel old when I am around people my own age. Like I don’t understand them and they don’t understand me kind of thing. I spent so much time with my family over the summer that I kind of thought that I was normal. After today I totally lost that feeling. I felt weird and awkward. I’m praying for a better day tomorrow. I miss my old staff. That’s probably why I don’t feel comfortable yet. Only time will tell.

Part of me really likes the job that I do and another part of me does not. I think what I need to do is just relax and go with the flow. The type A part of my brain likes to freak me out and make me believe that I don’t have time to do arts and crafts or go to campus events, the type B part of my brain wants to do those things and much more. I need to start listening to that side of my brain more often…

I really liked this quote (found in my staff training binder). I think it will be a part of my motivation for this year. I know that tomorrow I will show up to training with a really great attitude and remain positive. Something amazing may come from this position.

I know from experience that this is the most stressful part of the year and that in about two weeks things will settle down. I want to make a good first impression and most importantly, be respected. I also miss my friends. Or people in general. Campus is too quiet. And sharing little niceties with former coworkers and supervisors is great, but it is not substantial.

This is going to be a really great year, I can just feel something amazing coming up in my future. I swear that I can sense it.

 

If all else fails I will probably be the coolest RA with the coolest floor decorations. It is going to be a super hero theme (we are going to have a SUPER year theme really).

My residents will have avengers door decs. I am pretty sure that I am going to make an avengers symbol. More ideas to come 🙂

 

Everyone else is doing an olympics theme…

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

